Why would anyone own a pitbull?

#nuvetplus

Answer by Zoe Serafina:

I can't speak for anyone, only myself.

There are a lot of reasons why people get pitbulls, and a lot of them have been covered here. There are so many pit and pit mixes dumped in shelters and rescues, you can find one that suits you easily. The population is huge, sadly, so there are a lot to choose from.

The whole concept of breed-specific behavioral traits, especially in mixes,  has been researched  and found somewhat wanting. If you are interested, look for Janice Bradley's detailed report for the National Canine Research Council.

Here are a few of the reasons why I love my pit. (in no particular order)

I'm lazy about vacuuming, and she barely sheds.

She's sweet and cuddly.

She's gorgeous.

She's very food-motivated and therefore easy to train (a lot of pits do tend to be chowhounds.)

She's whip-smart and a creative problem solver.

She's a good judge of character.

But the question was why does anyone own a pit, wasn't it? I own my pit because we connected instantly when we met; that was it, she was my dog, I was her human.  She has a lot of issues due to long-term abuse, but it doesn't matter; she is who she is, and I love her. She has unconditional trust in me. She made that choice, despite having plenty of evidence in her life that humans will do bad things to you, and I do my best to be worthy of her trust every day.

 Since I don't think anyone has mentioned rescues here, let me do a small public service announcement and say that a well-run rescue that fosters dogs in volunteer's homes can be a great place to get a dog. Most rescues will work with you to find a dog that's a good fit, and since the dog has been in a home, more is known about their behavior.

Why would anyone own a pitbull?

Leave a Reply

